British and Irish Children and Young Adult Book Award Index

International Children and Young Adults Book Award, including UK & Ireland , index. Click here


ukflagBlue Peter Book Award- United Kingdom

The Blue Peter Book Awards are a series of literary prizes for children's literature awarded annually by the BBC television programme Blue Peter, and inaugurated in 2000. An overall award, The Blue Peter Book of the Year, is selected from the winners of three categories: "The Book I Couldn't Put Down", "The Best Book with Facts", and "The Best Illustrated Book to Read Aloud" - more

ukflagBooktrust Early Years Award- United Kingdom

Supported by Bookstart and the Unwin Foundation The Booktrust Early Years Awards aim to celebrate, publicise and reward the exciting range of books being published today for babies, toddlers and pre-school children
and to promote and make these books accessible to as wide an audience as possible - more

ukflagBooktrust Teenage Prize - United Kingdom

Launched in 2003 to recognise and celebrate contemporary fiction written for teenager, the prize (which is judged by a mixed panel of adults and teenagers) has in the words of former judge Matt Whyman 'fast become the benchmark for quality young people's fiction in the UK - more

ukflagCarnegie Medal- United Kingdom

The Carnegie Medal is awarded by children's librarians for an outstanding book for children and young people. The medal is now organized by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals. (UK). It was established by The Library Association in 1936, in memory of the Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919 more-

ukflagCosta Children's Book Award - United Kingdom

One of five Costa categories., the Children's Award is given annually and is eligible for Costa Book of the Year

ukflagKate Greenaway Medal-United Kingdom

Established by The Library Association in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children. It is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her fine children's illustrations and designs.

It was first Kate Greenaway Medal book award went to Edward Ardizzone for Tim All Alone (Little Tim). The medal is now awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals, which is a new organisation formed by the Unification of the Institute of Information Scientists and The Library Association on 1 April 2002 - more

ukflagMarsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation

A literary prize awarded in the United Kingdom since 1996 to the translator of an outstanding work of fiction for young readers translated into English.

The award is given every two years, and was administered by the National Centre for Research in Children's Literature at Roehampton University, and in 2007 was sponsored by the Marsh Christian Trust and subsidised by the Arts Council of England. From 2008 the award has been administered by the English-Speaking Union.

More details of past and present winners and shortlists.

ukflagRedhouse Children's Award- Readers Choice Award - UK

Founded in 1980 as The Children's Book Award by Pat Thomson, a member of the Federation of Children's Book Groups. It has been sponsored by Red House since 2001 when it became the Red House Children's Book Award. Prizes have been awarded rizes in three categories since 1992 the prize is judged entirely by children from shortlist to final overall winners - more

ukflagRoald Dahl Funny Prize - New Britsh Award- UK

Booktrust, in association with Children’s Laureate Michael Rosen, has launched the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize. This new prize has two categories –

The Funniest Book for Children Aged Six and Under
The Funniest Book for Children Aged Seven to Fourteen.

Fiction, non-fiction and poetry will be welcomed more

ukflagWH Smith Children's Book of the Year

Given as part of the Galaxy British Book Awards- more


Back to top