Royal Mail Awards for Scottish Children’s Books

The Royal Mail Awards for Scottish Children’s Books were originally set up by the Scottish Arts Council in 1999 and are now run by Scottish Book Trust. The awards recognize excellence in Scottish writing and illustration for children across three categories: Early years (0-7 years), younger readers (8-11 years), older readers (12-16 years). There is also a special Gaelic and Scots category, which in 2009 will take the form of a creative writing competition for Gaelic-speaking children across Scotland.

The winners of the awards are decided entirely by children and young people in schools and libraries across Scotland, reading and voting for their favourite books.This year over 30,000 young voters are registered to take part from all of Scotland’s 32 local authorities.

2010 Shortlists

Section for readers aged up to seven.

What the Ladybird Heard by Julia Donaldson and Lydia Monks;

Love from Louisa by Simon Puttock and Joe Kiddie

Stormy Weather by Debi Gliori in the "Bookbug"

Younger readers section for children aged 8-11

The Dragon Whisperer by Lucinda Hare;

The Secret of the Black Moon Moth by John Fardell

Invisible Fiends- Mr Mumbles by Barry Hutchison.

Older readers category12-16-year-olds

Grass by Cathy MacPhail;

Crossing the Line by Gillian Philip

The Witching Hour by Elizabeth Laird.

The final winners will be selected by children, who will be reading and voting for their favourites. The winners will be announced in February.


Early Years 0-7 years

Manfred the Baddie by John Fardell Pink! by Lynn Rickards and Margaret Chamberlain Stick Man by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler

Younger Readers 8-11 years  

Dino Egg by Charlie James The Eleventh Orphan by Joan Lingard First Aid for Fairies and Other Fabled Beasts

Older Readers 12-16 years

Crash by J.A. Henderson Ostrich Boys by Keith Gray The Reckoning by James Jauncey


Previous Winners and Shortlisted Books

The Royal Mail Awards for Scottish Children's Books has been running since 2006. Here, you can see which books have won the award and which books were shortlisted. You can find out more information about each book by clicking on the link..

2008 Winners

 Early Years Winner    

Early Years 0-7 Winner
Billy Monster's Daymare by Alan Durant and Ross Collins

Younger Readers 8-11 Winner
DarkIsle by DA Nelson

Older Readers 12-16 Winner
Bunker 10 by J.A. Henderson


Early Years 0-7
Tyrannosaurus Drip by Julia Donaldson and David Roberts

Goat & Donkey in Strawberry Sunglasses by Simon Puttock and Russell Julian

Younger Readers 8-11
Hox by Annemarie Allan

The Robe of Skulls by Vivian French and Ross Collins

Older Readers 12-16
The Witness by James Jauncey

Crusade by Elizabeth Laird

Gaelic Creative Story Writing Prize
Winner: Rachel Kate of Sgoil Bharabhais (Barvas School)
2nd Place: James of Bun-sgoil Steornabhaigh (Stornoway Primary School)
3rd Place: Alasdair of Sgoil Lionacleit (Isle of Benbecula)

2007 Winners


Early Years 0-7
Katie's Moose by Matthew Fitt, James Robertson and Karen Sutherland
Younger Readers 8-11
Chill by Alex Nye

Older readers 12-16
Scarlett by Cathy Cassidy


Early Years 0-7
Augustus and His Smile by Catherine Rayner
Dan and Diesel by Charlotte Hudson and Lindsey Gardiner
Younger Readers 8-11
The Flight of the Silver Turtle by John Fardell
The Highwayman's Footsteps by Nicola Morgan
Older Readers 12-16
The Medici Seal by Theresa Breslin
Nemesis: Into the Shadows by Catherine MacPhail

2006 Winners


Early Years 0-7
Little Lost Cowboy by Simon Puttock and Caroline Jayne Church
Younger Readers 8-12
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince by JK Rowling
Older Readers 13-16
Roxy's Baby by Catherine MacPhail


Early Years 0-7
Charlie Cook's Favourite Book by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler
The Sea Mice and the Stars by Kenneth Steven
Younger Readers 8-12
Deep Water by Debi Gliori
The Sign of the Black Dagger by Joan Lingard
Older readers  13-16
The Drowning Pond by Catherine Forde
Green Jasper by KM Grant