The Aye Write! Bank of Scotland Prize for Scottish Fiction is awarded to the Scottish writer who, in the opinion of the judges, has written the best novel in the previous year.

The prize is open to any full-length novel, written in English or Scots, by a writer born or living in Scotland or who has worked in Scotland for the 12 months prior to the award ceremony.

The inaugural prize in 2008 was won by Dan Rhodes for Gold. The shortlist contained the cream of Scottish writers with A L Kennedy, Ali Smith, Iain Banks, Alasdair Gray and John Burnside.

2009 award winer is Kieron Smith, Boy - James Kelman.

15TH March, 2009 REVOLUTIONARY SCOTTISH author James has scooped the 2009 Aye Write prize for the novel of the year. last night at one of Scotland's most prestigious literary festivals.

-Kelman's latest novel portrays Glasgow during a period of dramatic social change, with sectarianism on the increase. Rejected by his brother and largely ignored by his parents, the titular Kieron Smith finds comfort in the home of his much-loved grandparents. But when his family move to a new housing scheme on the outskirts of the city, a world away from the close community of the tenements, Kieron struggles to find a way to adapt to his new life.

Judging panel

The judges for the 2009 award are Rob Maslen ( University of Glasgow), Rosemary Goring (The Herald), Mary Greenshields (Glasgow Libraries), and Alan Bissett (novelist).

The winner will receive £5,000 and a trophy at a special ceremony on Saturday 14th March, the final event of Aye Write! Book Festival 2009.

2009 Other Shortlisted- January 2009

Little Hut of Leaping Fishes - Chiew-Siah Tei

The Fire Gospel (Myths) - Michel Faber

The Red Book - Meaghan Delahunt

Under Control - Mark McNay

We Are Now Beginning Our Descent - James Meek

back to top